<transcy>The Doobie Brothers - Minute By Minute</transcy>
<transcy>The Doobie Brothers - Minute By Minute</transcy>
<transcy>The Doobie Brothers - Minute By Minute</transcy>
<transcy>The Doobie Brothers - Minute By Minute</transcy>
<transcy>The Doobie Brothers - Minute By Minute</transcy>
<transcy>The Doobie Brothers - Minute By Minute</transcy>
<transcy>The Doobie Brothers - Minute By Minute</transcy>
<transcy>The Doobie Brothers - Minute By Minute</transcy>

The Doobie Brothers - Minute By Minute

TVA, Expédition et politique de retour
La TVA est incluse dans le prix pour les pays de l'Union Européenne. La TVA est ajustée sur la base du pays de destination au moment du paiement. Les frais d'expédition (s'il y en a) sont ajoutés au moment du paiement. L'expédition est gratuite au sein de l'Union Européenne au dessus de 99€ d'achat, sauf pour certaines destinations (voir les conditions générales de vente). Il n'y a pas de politique de retour pour les pays hors Union Européenne.

[click here to see more vinyl featuring the Doobie Brothers]

Tom Johnston (voc); Patrick Simmons (g, voc); Michael McDonald (keyb, voc); Jeffrey Baxter (g); Norton Buffalo (hca); Tiran Porter (b, voc); John Hartman, Keith Knudsen (dr); Bobby LaKind (cga)

Written by Michael McDonald (A1, A2, A3, A4, B1, B2, B5), Kenny Loggins (A2, B2), Lester Abrams (A3, B1), Patrick Simmons (A4, A5, B2, B3, B4, B5), Jeff Baxter (A5, B5), Michael Ebert (A5), Rev. Patrick Henderson (B1), Ted Templeman (B2), Carole Bayer Sager (B5)


1 LP, standard sleeve, insert

Original analog Master tape : YES

Heavy Press : 180g

Record color : black

Speed : 33 RPM

Size : 12'’



Record Press : Pallas

Label : Speakers Corner

Original Label : Warner

Recording: 1978 at Warner Bros.-Studios, North Hollywood, by Donn Landee and Loyd Clifft

Production: Ted Templeman

Originally released in 1978

Reissued in 2019


Tracks : 

Side A :

  1. Sweet Feelin'
  2. Open Your Eyes
  3. Dependin' on You
  4. Here to Love You
  5. Minute by Minute

Side B :

  1. You Never Change
  2. What A Fool Believes
  3. Steamer Lane Breakdown
  4. How do the Fools Survive?
  5. Don't Stop to Watch the Wheels

Reviews :

« With Tom Johnston gone from the lineup because of health problems, this is where the "new" Doobie Brothers really make their debut, with a richly soulful sound throughout and emphasis on horns and Michael McDonald's piano more than on Patrick Simmons' or Jeff Baxter's guitars. Not that they were absent entirely, or weren't sometimes right up front in the mix, as the rocking, slashing "Don't Stop to Watch the Wheels" and the bluegrass-influenced "Steamer Lane Breakdown" demonstrate. But given the keyboards, the funky rhythms, and McDonald's soaring tenor (showcased best on "What a Fool Believes"), it's almost difficult to believe that this is the hippie bar band that came out of California in 1970. There's less virtuosity here than on the group's first half-dozen albums, but overall a more commercial sound steeped in white funk. It's still all pretty compelling even if its appeal couldn't be more different from the group's earlier work (i.e., The Captain and Me, etc.). The public loved it, buying something like three million copies, and the recording establishment gave Minute by Minute four Grammy Awards, propelling the group to its biggest success ever. » AllMusic Review by Bruce Eder

How the Doobie Brothers came to form a 'family' is not only a fateful event but also a good story. While getting high on a marihuana joint (or doobie) that was passed from one to the other in a practice room, one of the group apparently uttered the following momentous words: »We are all Doobie brothers«. Later, when in possession of all his faculties, the co-founder of the group, Tom Johnston, was thinking along the lines of a Motown sound, with a bass line resembling that of Seals and Crofts, and vocals in the style of Stevie Wonder. That "Minute By Minute", the first album to appear in the post-Johnston era, so perfectly reflects the mature style of the group is mostly thanks to the two experienced former Steely Dan musicians Jeff “Skunk” Baxter and singer Michael McDonald.

Subtle, gently electrified groove epitomizes the main focus of this album. Its laid back, colourful and glittering sounds are rounded out with powerful rhythms and warm sounds ("What A Fool Believes"). Solo vocals are layered over rolling chords on the piano, a snappy bass and a multi-voiced background to create an appealing harmony ("Here To Love You"). Perfectly tempered and accomplished solos from the lead guitar and saxophone are welcome extras that never drown out the impressive leader of the group. So much brotherliness on a record certainly deserved to be recognized with three Platinum Records and a Grammy Award.

Ratings : 

AllMusic : 4 / 5 , Discogs : 3,83 / 5  , Rate Your Music : 3,31 / 5

Vu récemment