Schubert For Two - Gil Shaham & Göran Söllscher (2LP, DMM)
Schubert For Two - Gil Shaham & Göran Söllscher (2LP, DMM)
Out of stock
Schubert For Two - Gil Shaham & Göran Söllscher (2LP, DMM)
Schubert For Two - Gil Shaham & Göran Söllscher (2LP, DMM)

Schubert For Two - Gil Shaham & Göran Söllscher (2LP, DMM)

VAT included in price for European Union countries, may be adjusted based on delivery country at check out.
Average shipping time : 2 to 4 working days. Shipping is free within European Union (except for specific territories) above 99€ purchase up to 50kg. Shipping costs on quote above 50kg – quote request to be send to : No return policy for countries outside of European Union


Franz Schubert

Gil Shaham, Violin

Göran Söllscher, Guitar


2 LPs, Gatefold jacket

Limited edition

Direct Metal Mastering

Original analog Master tape : YES

Heavy Press : 180g Virgin vinyl

Record color : Black

Speed : 33RPM

Size : 12'’



Record Press : Pallas (Germany)

Label : Analogphonic

Original label : Deutsche Grammophon

Recorded at Glenn Gould Studio, Toronto

Engineered by Andrew Wedman

Produced by Sid McLauchlan

Direct Metal Mastering by Hans-Jorg Maucksch at Pauler Acoustics

Originally released in 1990

Reissued in 2002


Tracks :

Side A : Sonata in D Major

  1. Allegro molto
  2. Andante
  3. Allegro vivace
  4. Moment musical D 780 No. 3

Side B :

  1. Standchen (Serenade) No. 4 from Schwanengesang
  2. Valse noble No. 4
  3. Landler No. 3
  4. Valse (Landler) No. 12
  5. Valse noble No. 3
  6. German Dance No. 10
  7. Valse No. 36
  8. German Dance No. 1
  9. Valse No. 2 "Trauerwalzer"

Side C : Sonata in A minor "Arpeggione"

  1. Allegro moderato
  2. Adagio
  3. Allegretto

Side 4:

  1. Dance from D 365- No. 1
  2. Dance from D 365 - No. 19
  3. Dance from D 365 - No. 20
  4. Dance from D 365 - No. 21
  5. Dance from D 365 - No. 6
  6. Dance from D 365 - No. 2 "Trauerwalzer"
  7. Dance from D 365 - No. 3
  8. Dance from D 365 - No. 4
  9. Dance from D 365 - No. 16
  10. Dance from D 365 - No. 23
  11. Dance from D 365 - No. 7
  12. Dance from D 365 - No. 11
  13. Dance from D 365 - No. 12
  14. Dance from D 365 - No. 9
  15. Dance from D 365 - No. 10
  16. Ave Maria D 839 (Ellen's Song III)

Direct Metal Mastering

In Direct Metal Mastering, the cutting lathe engraves the audio signal directly onto a copper-plated master disc, instead of engraving the groove into a lacquer-coated aluminum disc.

The direct metal mastering technology addresses the lacquer mastering technology's issue of pre-echoes during record play, caused by the cutting stylus unintentionally transferring some of the subsequent groove wall's impulse signal into the previous groove wall. In particular, a quiet passage followed by a loud sound often clearly revealed a faint pre-echo of the loud sound occurring 1.8 seconds ahead of time (the duration of one revolution at 33 rpm). This problem could also appear as post-echo, 1.8 seconds after a peak in volume.

Another improvement is noise reduction. The lacquer mastering method bears a higher risk of adding unwanted random noise to the recording, caused by the enclosure of small dust particles when spraying the silvering on the lacquer master, which is the necessary first step of the electroplating process for reproduction of the master disc. As the DMM master disc is already made of metal (copper), this step is not required, and its faults are avoided.

With the groove being cut straight into a metal foil, this removed a number of plating stages in the manufacturing process. This gave rise to more upper frequency levels and less surface noise. Additionally, groove pre-echo problems are significantly diminished. Bass is typically tight and well defined, even described as more accurate than the fat, mushy sound of lacquered vinyl pressings.


Discogs : 5 / 5

Recently viewed