Astrud Gilberto - The Shadow of your Smile (2LP, 45RPM)
Astrud Gilberto - The Shadow of your Smile (2LP, 45RPM)
Astrud Gilberto - The Shadow of your Smile (2LP, 45RPM)
Astrud Gilberto - The Shadow of your Smile (2LP, 45RPM)

Astrud Gilberto - The Shadow of your Smile (2LP, 45RPM)

Exchange policy
Rarity vinyl cannot be exchanged as they are sole copies of sold-out editions. If damaged they would be refunded after return but not exchanged.
VAT, Shipping & Return policy
VAT included in price for European Union countries. VAT may be adjusted based on delivery country at check-out. Shipping cost (if any) will be added at check-out. Shipping is free within European Union above 99€ purchase except for specific territories (please see general terms & conditions). There is no return policy for countries outside of European Union.


Astrud Gilberto, vocals [click here to see more vinyl featuring Astrud Gilberto]

Kai Winding, trombone

Bob Brookmeyer, valve trombone

Don Sebesky, arranger, conductor

Urbie Green, trombone

Claus Ogerman, conductor (A4, B2, B3, B5)

Joao Donato, conductor (A2, B1)

Arranged by Claus Ogerman (A4, B2, B3, B5), Don Sebesky (A1, A5, A6), Joao Donato (A2, B1)

Written by Johnny Mandel (A1, D1), Paul Francis Webster (A1, D1), Carlos Lyra (A2, D2), Geraldo Vandré (A2), Norman Gimbel (A2, B3), Antônio Maria (A3, D3), Luiz Bonfá (A3, B2-4, C3, D3), Bart Howard (B1), Matt Dubey (B2-3), Anthony Newley (C1), Leslie Bricusse (C1), Axel Stordahl (C2), Paul Weston (C2), Sammy Cahn (C2), Maria Toledo (C3), Alan Brandt (C4), Ennio Morricone (C4), Geraldo Vandré (D2), Norman Gimbel (D2)


2 LPs, gatefold jacket

Limited to 2500 numbered copies

Original analog Master tape : YES

Heavy Press : 180g

Record color : black

Speed : 45 RPM

Size : 12'’



Record Press : Record Technology Incorporated

Label : Original Recordings Group (ORG)

Original Label : Verve Records

Recorded in New York City at RCA Studios on Feb. 4, 1965 by Bob Simpson and at A&R Studios, Oct. 21, 1964; May 25, June 3 & 4, 1965 by Phil Ramone

Produced by Creed Taylor

Remastered at Bernie Grundman Mastering

Originally released in 1965

Reissued in 2012



Side A:

  1. The Shadow Of Your Smile (Love theme from The Sandpiper)
  2. (Take Me To) Aruanda
  3. Manha de Carnaval

Side B:

  1. (In Other Words) Fly Me to the Moon
  2. The Gentle Rain
  3. Non-Stop to Brazil
  4. O Ganso

Side C:

  1. Who Can I Turn To? (When Nobody Needs Me)
  2. Day By Day
  3. Tristeza
  4. Funny World

Side D (Repeat of Side A):

  1. Shadow Of Your Smile (Love Theme from The Sandpiper)
  2. (Take Me To) Aruanda
  3. Manha de Carnaval



          “For her second Verve LP, Astrud Gilberto expanded her range from a raft of Gilberto/Jobim standards to embrace the large and obviously daunting catalogue of classic American pop. With arrangements by Don Sebesky and Claus Ogerman (as well as two by country-mate João Donato), The Shadow of Your Smile can't help but shine a bright spotlight on Gilberto's weak voice, especially when she's singing material previously enlightened by singers with the weight of Frank Sinatra or Sarah Vaughan. Even the intimate, understated arrangements on songs like "Day by Day," the title track, and "Fly Me to the Moon" overshadow the chanteuse's limited range. Brazilian material like the five songs by Luiz Bonfá make for better listening, though the preponderance of flutes, strings, and muted trumpet in the arrangements is very mid-'60s, for better and worse. (And the notes' description of "O Ganso" as an "exercise in vocalise based on bah and dah sounds" is being more than generous.) Certainly, no American vocalist could hope to equal the tortured syntax and somehow endearing performances on these songs; still, Verve did much better by Gilberto later on when they gave her good-time Brazilian songs to sing and didn't attempt to force comparison with standard jazz/pop vocalists.” AllMusic Review by John Bush


          Ratings :

          AllMusic : 2 / 5 , Discogs : 4.83 / 5

          Recently viewed