Ben Webster - Plays Duke Ellington
Ben Webster - Plays Duke Ellington
Ben Webster - Plays Duke Ellington
Ben Webster - Plays Duke Ellington
Ben Webster - Plays Duke Ellington
Ben Webster - Plays Duke Ellington
Ben Webster - Plays Duke Ellington
Ben Webster - Plays Duke Ellington

Ben Webster - Plays Duke Ellington

VAT included in price for European Union countries, may be adjusted based on delivery country at check out.
Average shipping time : 2 to 4 working days. Shipping is free within European Union (except for specific territories) above 99€ purchase up to 50kg. Shipping costs on quote above 50kg – quote request to be send to : No return policy for countries outside of European Union


Tenor Saxophone – Ben Webster [click here to see more vinyl featuring Ben Webster]

Bass – Niels-Henning Ørsted Pederson (A1-4, B2-5) [click here to see more vinyl featuring Niels Henning Orsted Pedersen]

Drums – Albert Heath (A1, A2) [click here to see more vinyl featuring Albert Tootie Heath]

Piano – Kenny Drew (A1, A2)  [click here to see more vinyl featuring Kenny Drew]

Drums – Makaya Ntsoko (A3-4)

Piano - Teddy Wilson (A3-4)

Danish Radio Big Band:

  • Congas – Bjarne Rostvold (B2-5), John Steffensen (B2-5)
  • Drums – Bjarne Rostvold (B1), William Schiöpffe (B2-5)
  • Guitar – Ole Molin (B1, B2, B4)
  • Piano - Niels Jørgen Steen (B3, B5), Ole Kock Hansen (B1-2, B4)
  • Reeds – Bent Nielsen (B1-5), Erling Christensen (B1-5), Flemming Madsen (B1-5), Jesper Thilo (B1-5), Uffe Karskov (B1-5)
  • Trombone – Axel Windfeld (B1), Erling Kroner (B1), Helmuth Hjort Hansen (B2-5), Kurt Järnberg (B3, B5), Ole Kurt Jensen (B1-5), Per Espersen (B1-2, B4), Poul Jørgensen (B2, B4), Poul Keldgård (B3, B5), Torolf Mølgård (B1-5)
  • Trumpet – Allan Botschinsky (B1-5), Arne Lamberth (B1, B3, B5), Henry Henkel (B2, B4), Palle Bolvig (B1-5), Palle Mikkelborg (B1-5), Perry Knudsen (B2, B4), Svend Lundvig (B3, B5)
  • Vibraphone – Finn Ziegler (B1)
  • Bass – Hugo Rasmussen (B1)
  • Conductor – Ib Glindemann (B3, B5), Niels Jørgen Steen (B2, B4), Ray Pitts (B1)

Written by Duke Ellington (A1, A4, B1-5), Billy Strayhorn (A2), Juan Tizol (A3), Ervin Drake (A3), Hans Lengsfelder (A3)


1 LP, standard sleeve

Limited edition

Original analog Master tape : NO (private tape)

Heavy Press : 180g

Record color : black

Speed : 33 RPM

Size : 12'’



Record Press : unspecified

Label : Storyville Records

Original Label : Storyville Records

Recorded at Pori Jazz Festival, Finland, July 14th 1967 (A1-2) ; Odd Fellow Palæet, Copenhagen 1969 (A3, A4) ; Danish Radio, November 22nd 1971 (B1) ; Danish Radio, October 10th 1969 (B2, B4) ; recorded for the Danish Radio, November 27th 1969 (B3, B5)

Produced by Erik Moseholm (B1, B2, B4), Poul Clemensen (B3, B5)

Mastered at Tonstudio Bauer

Originally released in 1988

Reissued in November 2022



Side A

  1. Cottontail
  2. Johnny Come Lately
  3. Perdido
  4. In A Mellow Tone

Side B

  1. Bojangles
  2. Rockin’ In Rhythm
  3. Things Ain’t What They Used To Be
  4. Stompy Jones
  5. Cottontail



    “Although he was only a member of Duke Ellington's Orchestra for three years, tenor-saxophonist Ben Webster was linked with Duke Ellington throughout his career. This Storyville release features the great tenor playing nine songs associated with Ellington. The music is drawn from five separate sessions including trio gigs with pianists Kenny Drew and Teddy Wilson and three with The Danish Radio Band. The emphasis is on uptempo pieces such as "Perdido," "Rockin' in Rhythm" and "Stompy Jones;" a special highlight are the two very different versions of "Cottontail."” AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow


    Ratings :

    AllMusic : 4.5 / 5 ; Discogs : 4.14 / 5

    Recently viewed