Bobbie Gentry - The Girl From Chickasaw County (2LP)

Bobbie Gentry - The Girl From Chickasaw County (2LP)

VAT included in price for European Union countries, may be adjusted based on delivery country at check out.
Average shipping time : 2 to 4 working days. Shipping is free within European Union (except for specific territories) above 99€ purchase up to 50kg. Shipping costs on quote above 50kg – quote request to be send to : No return policy for countries outside of European Union


Compiled by Andrew Batt

Highlights from the Grammy-Nominated 8CD Box Set

Extracts from All Seven Bobbie Gentry Studio Albums

Bobbie Gentry - Guitar, Vocals


2 LP, standard sleeve, Four-Sided Insert

Original analog Master tape : YES

Heavy Press : 180g

Record color : black

Speed : 33 RPM

Size : 12'’



Record Press : unspecified

Label : Capitol

Original Label : Capitol

Recorded 1967—1972

B3-4 & B6 have been remixed for this release

Mastered by Andrew Batt

The 8 CD box set was originally released in September 2019

The 2LP were released for the first time in August 2022

A3, A4, B2, B7-9, C3-5, C8, D1, D5-6 are on vinyl for the first time

Tracks :

Side A:

  1. Ode to Billie Joe
  2. Chickasaw County Child
  3. Hurry, Tuesday Child [demo]
  4. Sunday Best [alternate take]
  5. Mississippi Delta [alternate version]
  6. Okolona River Bottom Band
  7. Refractions
  8. Courtyard

Side B:

  1. Mornin' Glory
  2. Sweete Peony [alternate version]
  3. Casket Vignette
  4. Recollection
  5. Sittin' Pretty
  6. Hushabye Mountain
  7. The Conspiracy of Homer Jones
  8. Sunday Mornin' [alternate version]
  9. Let It Be Me (duet with Glen Campbell) [without strings]

Side C:

  1. God Bless the Child
  2. This Girl's in Love with You
  3. Touch 'Em with Love [stereo version]
  4. Seasons Come, Seasons Go [demo]
  5. Glory Hallelujah, How They'll Sing [alternate take]
  6. Fancy
  7. He Made a Woman Out of Me
  8. Circle Round the Sun

Side D:

  1. Apartment 21 [stereo version]
  2. Benjamin
  3. But I Can't Get Back
  4. Lookin' In
  5. Smoke
  6. Joanne
  7. The Girl from Cincinnati

Reviews :

Following on from the huge success of 2018’s now sold out Girl From Chickasaw County Box Set, Bobbie Gentry is the subject of a new 2 CD, 2 LP and digital release on August 5th.

Once again compiled and produced by Andrew Batt, Highlights From The Capitol Masters aims to be the ultimate “all killer, no filler” Bobbie Gentry 2 CD and 2 LP compilation drawn from all of Gentry’s studio albums supplemented by the cream of the previously unreleased recordings including tracks from her “lost” jazz album The Windows Of The World that was a standout vinyl release of RSD 2021, the deluxe edition of her classic album The Delta Sweete other outtakes, demos, rarities and live performances taken from her celebrated TV series for the BBC.

Other pick outs include the classic original of “Ode To Billie Joe,” alternative versions of “Mississippi Delta,” “Touch Em’ With Love” and the classy Glen Campbell duet “Let It Be Me,” “Mornin’ Glory” from The Delta Sweete, her definitive “Hushabye Mountain,” pop soul triumph “Fancy,” and the melancholy “Lookin In” from her final album.

In addition, there are exceptional acoustic demos of originals like “Hurry Tuesday Child” and “Seasons Come, Seasons Go” new songs that never came out like “Smoke” and “Joanne” alongside essential covers of “Conspiracy of Homer Jones” and “God Bless The Child.” For the hardcore collector, a number of the recordings have been remixed from the multi-tracks especially for this release including “Caskette Vignette” and “Recollection.”

Highlights From The Capitol Masters reprises the specially commissioned boxset cover illustration by David Downton and the artwork also includes many of the rare and unseen photos included in the previously released 8 CD boxset. Bobbie Gentry’s career blazed brightly for a few short years, but only now is the full extent of her artistry coming into focus. The mystery of her disappearance detracts from her narrative as a self-made woman who strove for financial and creative independence. When we think of empowered female stars we think of Taylor Swift, Beyoncé, Madonna, or even Dolly Parton, but before all of them there came the girl from Chickasaw County. This impeccably curated new set reminds us once again just how special an artist she was.” Buddy Iahn, The Music Universe, June 2022



The 8 CD Box set is rated 4.5 / 5 by AllMusic

Recently viewed