Heart - Bebe Le Strange
Heart - Bebe Le Strange
Heart - Bebe Le Strange
Heart - Bebe Le Strange

Heart - Bebe Le Strange

VAT included in price for European Union countries, may be adjusted based on delivery country at check out.
Average shipping time : 2 to 4 working days. Shipping is free within European Union (except for specific territories) above 99€ purchase up to 50kg. Shipping costs on quote above 50kg – quote request to be send to : contact@audiosoundmusic.com. No return policy for countries outside of European Union

 [click here to see more vinyl featuring Heart]

Ann Wilson – lead vocals (A1-2, A4–5, B1-2, B4-5); tambourine (A1, A5, B1, B5); bass (A1, B1, B5); backup vocals (A1, B1-2, B4); rhythm guitars (A2, B1); drums, alto flute, piano (B5)

Nancy Wilson – guitar (A1, A4, B5); backup vocals (A1, A5, B1-2, B4); Mellotron (A2); electric guitar (A5); lead guitar (B1); acoustic guitars (B2); lead vocals, all instruments except drums (B3)

Howard Leese – guitar (A1, A4, B5); lead guitar (A1); synthesizer (A2); backward solo (A4); electric guitar (A5, B2); acoustic guitars (A5); backup vocals (A5, B4); rhythm guitars (B1); keyboards (B5)

Michael Derosier – drums (tracks A1-2, A4–5, B1-4); rhythm instruments (B2)

Steve Fossen – bass (A2, A4-5, B2, B4)

Sue Ennis – guitar (A1); piano (B5)

Chrissy Shefts – guitar (A1)

Connie[a] – acoustic guitars (A5, B5)

Don Wilhelm – backup vocals (A5)

Gary Humphreys – backup vocals (A5)

Tower of Power (Lenny Pickett, Greg Adams, Emilio Castillo, Steve Kupka, Mic Gillette) – horn section (B1)


1 LP, Gatefold Cover

Original analog Master tape : YES

Heavy Press : 180g

Record color : White

Speed : 33RPM

Size : 12”



Record Press : RTI

Label : Friday Music

Original Label : Epic

Recorded at Kaye-Smith Studios, Seattle

Engineered & mixed by Mike Flicker, Rob Perkins

Produced by Connie, Howie, Mike Flicker

Remastered by Joe Reagoso

Originally released in 1980

Reissued in 2016



Side A:

  1. Bebe Le Strange
  2. Down On Me
  3. Silver Wheels
  4. Break
  5. Rockin' Heaven Down

Side B:

  1. Even It Up
  2. Strange Night
  3. Raised On You
  4. Pilot
  5. Sweet Darlin'


Reviews :

"Bebe le Strange, Heart's entrance into the 1980s, was a rough one. Heart were certainly questioning their identity here, as evidenced by their feeble attempt at punky new wave on "Break." It was the band's first without guitarist Roger Fisher -- longtime co-writer and guitarist Sue Ennis stepped in for the sessions -- and his absence is felt here; there is a distinct lack of his elegant approach to acoustic guitar and his tasty lead work. Much of the deeply textured sonic lushness of the band's earlier records is relegated to the back burner and production touches are focused on compression. Instead of creating spaces, they seem to break them down. Perhaps the Wilson sisters were feeling the pressure of punk and new wave and trying to update their sound for the new decade, but it was a mistake. Heart's trademark sound is timeless, and there are flashes of it here on cuts such as Nancy Wilson's gorgeous ballad "Silver Wheels" and the rocked-up single "Even It Up," but overall, Bebe le Strange feels unfocused and restless. The urgency on tracks like "Raised on You" and "Down on Me" (not the Janis Joplin tune) feels forced, and Ann's "Sweet Darlin'" falls too late in the proceedings -- it might have made a wonderful addition to the middle of the set, but here, one of the album's best melodies falls into near obscurity by its placement. Finally, the keyboard and drum production on this set were so gimmicky that they dated the record before it was even issued." AllMusic Review by Thom Jurek


Ratings :

AllMusic : 3 / 5 , Discogs : 3,81 / 5

Recently viewed