Johnny Griffin - The Little Giant (2LP, 45RPM)
Johnny Griffin - The Little Giant (2LP, 45RPM)
Johnny Griffin - The Little Giant (2LP, 45RPM)
Johnny Griffin - The Little Giant (2LP, 45RPM)

Johnny Griffin - The Little Giant (2LP, 45RPM)

Rarity vinyl cannot be exchanged as they are sole copies of sold-out editions.
If damaged they would be refunded after return but not exchanged.
VAT included in price for European Union countries, may be adjusted based on delivery country at check out.
Average shipping time : 2 to 4 working days. Shipping is free within European Union (except for specific territories) above 99€ purchase up to 50kg. Shipping costs on quote above 50kg – quote request to be send to : No return policy for countries outside of European Union


Johnny Griffin, tenor saxophone [click here to see more vinyl featuring Johnny Griffin]

Blue Mitchell, trumpet [click here to see more vinyl featuring Blue Mitchell]

Julian Priester, trombone

Wynton Kelly, piano

Sam Jones, bass

Albert "Tootie" Heath, drums [click here to see more vinyl featuring Albert Tootie Heath]


2 LPs, standard sleeve

Limited to 2,500 copies

Original analog Master tape : YES

Heavy Press : 180g

Record color : black

Speed : 45RPM

Size : 12”



Record Press :  Reeves Sound Studios

Label :  Analogue Productions

Original Label :  Riverside Records

Recorded at Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey in August 1959

Engineered by Jack Higgins

Produced by Orrin Keepnews

Remastered by Components Corp and AcousTech Mastering

Originally released in 1959


Reissued in


Tracks :

  1. Olive Refractions
  2. The Message
  3. The Lonely One
  4. 63rd Street Theme
  5. Playmates
  6. Venus and the Moon


Reviews :

"A bit of an offbeat session for tenor saxophonist Johnny Griffin, The Little Giant features three originals by then-obscure pianist Norman Simmons, a reworking of the pop tune "Playmates," Babs Gonzalez's "Lonely One," and the tenorist's "63rd Street Theme." Simmons' arrangements for the three horns (which include trumpeter Blue Mitchell and trombonist Julian Priester) are colorful; the rhythm section (pianist Wynton Kelly, bassist Sam Jones, and drummer Albert "Tootie" Heath) is state of the art for the period, and Griffin (who is featured in a trio with Jones and Heath on "Lonely One") is in fine form. An interesting set of obscure straight-ahead jazz." AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow



AllMusic 3/5  ,   Discogs 4.48 / 5

Recently viewed