Kenny Burrell - Kenny Burrell
Kenny Burrell - Kenny Burrell
Kenny Burrell - Kenny Burrell
Kenny Burrell - Kenny Burrell

Kenny Burrell - Kenny Burrell

VAT included in price for European Union countries, may be adjusted based on delivery country at check out.
Average shipping time : 2 to 4 working days. Shipping is free within European Union (except for specific territories) above 99€ purchase up to 50kg. Shipping costs on quote above 50kg – quote request to be send to : No return policy for countries outside of European Union

Kenny Burrell - guitar [click here to see more vinyl featuring Kenny Burrell]

Kenny Dorham (A3) - trumpet [click here to see more vinyl featuring Kenny Dorham]

Frank Foster (B2-4) - tenor saxophone

J. R. Monterose (A3) - tenor saxophone

Tommy Flanagan (A1, A3-B4) - piano [click here to see more vinyl featuring Tommy Flanagan]

Paul Chambers (A1) - bass [click here to see more vinyl featuring Paul Chambers]

Sam Jones (A3) - bass

Oscar Pettiford (A4-B4) - bass [click here to see more vinyl featuring Oscar Pettiford]

Kenny Clarke (A1) - drums [click here to see more vinyl featuring Kenny Clarke]

Arthur Edgehill (A3) - drums

Shadow Wilson (A4-B4) - drums

Candido Camero (A1) - conga

1 LP, Gatefold jacket

Original analog Master tape : YES

Heavy Press : 180g

Record color : black

Speed : 33RPM

Size : 12”



Record Press :  RTI

Label :  Blue Note Tone Poet

Original Label :  Blue Note

A4 to B4: Recorded March 12, 1956 at the Audio-Video Studios, New York City.

A1, A2: Recorded May 29-30, 1956 at the Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey.

A3: Recorded May 31, 1956 at the Cafe Bohemia, New York City

Engineered by Rudy Van Gelder

Produced by Joe Harley

Remastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio

Originally released in April 1957

Reissued in October 2022

Tracks :

Side A:

  1. Get Happy
  2. But Not For Me
  3. Mexico City
  4. Moten Swing

Side B:

  1. Cheeta
  2. Now See How You Are
  3. Phinupi
  4. How About You


    Reviews :

    The first thing that strikes you about Kenny Burrell's second Blue Note album, simply titled Kenny Burrell (BLP 1543) and released as part of Blue Note's fabled 1500 series, is the cover, which features an illustration by Andy Warhol, the first of three Blue Note covers the soon-to-be famed artist collaborated on with designer Reid Miles. The second is the striking music, which is drawn from four different sessions recorded in 1956 with the great guitarist featured in a variety of different configurations. The opener, a brisk romp through Harold Arlen's "Get Happy," features Tommy Flanagan on piano, Paul Chambers on bass, Kenny Clarke on drums, and Candido on congas. That leads into a stunning solo guitar rendition of the Gershwin tune "But Not For Me," which is followed by the live track "Mexico City," a piece by Kenny Dorham and recorded with the trumpeter's sextet at the Café Bohemia. Burrell and Flanagan are joined by bassist Oscar Pettiford and drummer Shadow Wilson on the Basie band number "Moten Swing" and Burrell's "Cheeta," and tenor saxophonist Frank Foster makes it a quintet for remainder of Side 2 on Pettiford's "Now See How You Are," Burrell's "Phinupi," and the Burton Lane standard "How About You."



    Discogs 4.55 / 5

    Recently viewed