Lee Konitz with Warne Marsh (Mono)
Lee Konitz with Warne Marsh (Mono)
Lee Konitz with Warne Marsh (Mono)
Lee Konitz with Warne Marsh (Mono)

Lee Konitz with Warne Marsh (Mono)

VAT included in price for European Union countries, may be adjusted based on delivery country at check out.
Average shipping time : 2 to 4 working days. Shipping is free within European Union (except for specific territories) above 99€ purchase up to 50kg. Shipping costs on quote above 50kg – quote request to be send to : contact@audiosoundmusic.com. No return policy for countries outside of European Union

Lee Konitz - saxophone [click here to see more vinyl featuring Lee Konitz]

Warne Marsh (ts); Ronnie Ball, Sal Mosca (p); Billy Bauer (g); Oscar Pettiford (b); Kenny Clarke (dr)

Written by Warne Marsh (B2, B3, B4), Lee Konitz (B2, B3), Edgar Battle (A1), Eddie Durham (A1), Harry Warren (A2), Vernon Duke (A3), Charlie Parker (A4), Lennie Tristano (B1)


1 LP, standard sleeve

Original analog Master tape : YES

Heavy Press : 180g

Record color : black

Speed : 33 RPM

Size : 12'’



Record Press : Pallas

Label : Speakers Corner

Original Label :  Atlantic

Recording: June 1955 at Coastal Studios, New York City, by Tom Dowd

Production: Nesuhi Ertegun

Originally released in 1955

Reissued in 2018

Tracks :

Side A :

  1. Topsy
  2. There Will Never Be Another You
  3. I Can't Get Started
  4. Donna Lee

Side B :

  1. Two Not One
  2. Don't Squawk
  3. Ronnie's Line
  4. Background Music

Reviews :

« Altoist Lee Konitz and tenor-saxophonist Warne Marsh always made for a perfect team. Even by the mid-'50s when they were not as influenced by Lennie Tristano as previously (particularly Konitz), their long melodic lines and unusual tones caused them to stand out from the crowd. On this LP reissue Konitz and Marsh co-lead a particularly strong group that also includes pianist Sal Mosca, guitarist Billy Bauer, bassist Oscar Pettiford and drummer Kenny Clarke. Their renditions of "originals" based on common chord changes along with versions of "Topsy," "There Will Never Be Another You" and "Donna Lee" are quite enjoyable and swing hard yet fall into the category of cool jazz. This set is worth searching for, as are all of the Konitz-Marsh collaborations. » AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow

What a great rhythm group! A dream comes true: Oscar Pettiford and Kenny Clarke – and then Billy Bauer on the guitar and alternately Ronnie Ball (UK) or Sal Mosca (USA) on the piano. No wonder that things really take off when these masters of improvisation from the Lennie Tristano school get going.

In June 1955, in the Atlantic studio, standards provided the starting base for the long and wonderfully sophisticated improvisations by Lee Konitz and Wayne Marsh, who were at that time pupils of the great Chicago maestro. Although the numbers are declared as own compositions, such as "Background Music" and "Ronnie’s Line", they are actually none other than adaptations of "All Of Me" or "That Old Feeling" – but at the very highest level. Lee Konitz always called this 'The Twelfth Step'. The repertoire is enriched by seldom-heard compositions by the great Oscar Pettiford. 'Time-keeping' – a neologism of prime importance for jazz musicians – is the most important element in "Donna Lee" and "There Will Never Be Another You" – and there is no better drummer for this music than Kenny 'Klook' Clarke, who lived in those days in the USA before moving to Paris in 1956 where there was no racial discrimination.

Of course, you can buy these recordings on various digital discs. But that can’t be compared to a superb black disc and a cover with lines notes by the famous Barry Ulanov.

Just one thing more: one of the musicians is still on the road. Lee Konitz is often to be heard and seen somewhere in Europe. Despite his almost 91 years!

Ratings :

AllMusic :  4 / 5 ,  Discogs 4,41 / 5 ,  Rate Your Music 3,73 / 5

Recently viewed