Steely Dan - Pretzel Logic (2LP, Box set, 45RPM, UHQR, 200g, Clear vinyl)

Steely Dan - Pretzel Logic (2LP, Box set, 45RPM, UHQR, 200g, Clear vinyl)

VAT included in price for European Union countries. VAT may be adjusted based on delivery country at check-out. Shipping cost (free above 99€ purchase within European Union) will be added at check-out.
It may take a few months for Labels to issue pre-order vinyl


[click here to see more vinyl from Steely Dan]

Donald Fagen – keyboards, saxophone, lead vocals, background vocals [click here to see more vinyl featuring Donald Fagen]

Walter Becker – bass, guitar, background vocals

Jeff Baxter – lead guitar (wah-wah on "East St. Louis Toodle-Oo"), pedal steel guitar

Denny Dias – guitar

Jim Hodder – backing vocals on "Parker's Band"

Additional musicians

Michael Omartian – piano, keyboards

David Paich – piano, keyboards

Ben Benay – guitar

Dean Parks – guitar, banjo

Plas Johnson – saxophone

Jerome Richardson – saxophone

Ernie Watts – saxophone

Ollie Mitchell – trumpet

Lew McCreary – trombone

Timothy B. Schmit – background vocals on "Rikki Don't Lose That Number", "Barrytown" and "Pretzel Logic"

Wilton Felder – bass

Chuck Rainey – bass

Victor Feldman – percussion

Jim Gordon – drums on all tracks except "Night by Night"

Jeff Porcaro – drums on "Night by Night", additional drums on "Parker's Band"

Roger Nichols – gong on "East St. Louis Toodle-Oo"

Orchestration by Jimmie Haskell

All songs written by Walter Becker and Donald Fagen except "East St. Louis Toodle-Oo" written by Duke Ellington, Bubber Miley


2 LPs, box set, gatefold on heavy cardboard stock, premium slipcase with a wooden dowel spine

Limited to 15,000 numbered copies

Original analog Master tape : YES


Heavy Press : 200g

Record color : Clear vinyl

Speed : 45RPM

Size : 12”



Record Press : Quality Record Pressings

Label : Analogue Productions

Original Label : ABC

Recorded October 1973 to January 1974 at The Village Recorder in West Los Angeles

Engineered by Roger Nichols

Produced by Gary Katz

Mastered by Bernie Grundman

Originally released in February 1974

Reissued in 2023



Side A:

  1. Rikki Don't Lose That Number
  2. Night by Night

Side B

  1. Any Major Dude Will Tell You
  2. Barrytown
  3. East St. Louis Toodle-Oo

Side C:

  1. Parker's Band
  2. Through with Buzz
  3. Pretzel Logic

Side D:

  1. With a Gun
  2. Charlie Freak
  3. Monkey in Your Soul



        Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Ranked 386/500

        Colin Larkin’s All Time Top 1000 Albums - Ranked 205


        Reviews :

        “Countdown to Ecstasy wasn't half the hit that Can't Buy a Thrill was, and Steely Dan responded by trimming the lengthy instrumental jams that were scattered across Countdown and concentrating on concise songs for Pretzel Logic. While the shorter songs usually indicate a tendency toward pop conventions, that's not the case with Pretzel Logic. Instead of relying on easy hooks, Walter Becker and Donald Fagen assembled their most complex and cynical set of songs to date. Dense with harmonics, countermelodies, and bop phrasing, Pretzel Logic is vibrant with unpredictable musical juxtapositions and snide, but very funny, wordplay. Listen to how the album's hit single, "Rikki Don't Lose That Number," opens with a syncopated piano line that evolves into a graceful pop melody, or how the title track winds from a blues to a jazzy chorus -- Becker and Fagen's craft has become seamless while remaining idiosyncratic and thrillingly accessible. Since the songs are now paramount, it makes sense that Pretzel Logic is less of a band-oriented album than Countdown to Ecstasy, yet it is the richest album in their catalog, one where the backhanded Dylan tribute "Barrytown" can sit comfortably next to the gorgeous "Any Major Dude Will Tell You." Steely Dan made more accomplished albums than Pretzel Logic, but they never made a better one.” Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine


        UHQR :

        UHQR pressing is inspired from JVC Japan, which 30 years ago was the pinnacle of high-quality vinyl. Each UHQR vinyl is pressed, using hand-selected vinyl, on a manual Finebilt press with attention paid to every single detail of every single record. The 200-gram records feature the same flat profile that helped to make the original UHQR so desirable. From the lead-in groove to the run-out groove, there is no pitch to the profile, allowing your stylus to play truly perpendicular to the grooves from edge to center. Every UHQR is hand-inspected upon pressing completion, and only the truly flawless are allowed to go to market.

        Ratings :

        AllMusic : 5 / 5 , Discogs : 4.3 / 5

        Recently viewed