Steely Dan - Pretzel Logic (Hybrid SACD) - AudioSoundMusic
Steely Dan - Pretzel Logic (Hybrid SACD) - AudioSoundMusic
Steely Dan - Pretzel Logic (Hybrid SACD) - AudioSoundMusic
Steely Dan - Pretzel Logic (Hybrid SACD) - AudioSoundMusic

Steely Dan - Pretzel Logic (Hybrid SACD)

VAT included in price for European Union countries, may be adjusted based on delivery country at check out.
Average shipping time : 2 to 4 working days. Shipping is free within European Union (except for specific territories) above 99€ purchase up to 50kg. Shipping costs on quote above 50kg – quote request to be send to : No return policy for countries outside of European Union


[click here to see more vinyl from Steely Dan]

Donald Fagen – keyboards, saxophone, lead vocals, background vocals [click here to see more vinyl featuring Donald Fagen]

Walter Becker – bass, guitar, background vocals

Jeff Baxter – lead guitar (wah-wah on "East St. Louis Toodle-Oo"), pedal steel guitar

Denny Dias – guitar

Jim Hodder – backing vocals on "Parker's Band"

Additional musicians

Michael Omartian – piano, keyboards

David Paich – piano, keyboards

Ben Benay – guitar

Dean Parks – guitar, banjo

Plas Johnson – saxophone

Jerome Richardson – saxophone

Ernie Watts – saxophone

Ollie Mitchell – trumpet

Lew McCreary – trombone

Timothy B. Schmit – background vocals on "Rikki Don't Lose That Number", "Barrytown" and "Pretzel Logic"

Wilton Felder – bass

Chuck Rainey – bass

Victor Feldman – percussion

Jim Gordon – drums on all tracks except "Night by Night"

Jeff Porcaro – drums on "Night by Night", additional drums on "Parker's Band"

Roger Nichols – gong on "East St. Louis Toodle-Oo"

Orchestration by Jimmie Haskell

All songs written by Walter Becker and Donald Fagen except "East St. Louis Toodle-Oo" written by Duke Ellington, Bubber Miley



1 SACD , jewel box

Original analog Master tape : YES



Label : Analogue Productions

Original Label : ABC

Recorded October 1973 to January 1974 at The Village Recorder in West Los Angeles

Engineered by Roger Nichols

Produced by Gary Katz

Mastered by Bernie Grundman

Originally released in February 1974

Reissued in 2023



  1. Rikki Don't Lose That Number
  2. Night by Night
  3. Any Major Dude Will Tell You
  4. Barrytown
  5. East St. Louis Toodle-Oo
  6. Parker's Band
  7. Through with Buzz
  8. Pretzel Logic
  9. With a Gun
  10. Charlie Freak
  11. Monkey in Your Soul



        Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Ranked 386/500

        Colin Larkin’s All Time Top 1000 Albums - Ranked 205


        Reviews :

        “Countdown to Ecstasy wasn't half the hit that Can't Buy a Thrill was, and Steely Dan responded by trimming the lengthy instrumental jams that were scattered across Countdown and concentrating on concise songs for Pretzel Logic. While the shorter songs usually indicate a tendency toward pop conventions, that's not the case with Pretzel Logic. Instead of relying on easy hooks, Walter Becker and Donald Fagen assembled their most complex and cynical set of songs to date. Dense with harmonics, countermelodies, and bop phrasing, Pretzel Logic is vibrant with unpredictable musical juxtapositions and snide, but very funny, wordplay. Listen to how the album's hit single, "Rikki Don't Lose That Number," opens with a syncopated piano line that evolves into a graceful pop melody, or how the title track winds from a blues to a jazzy chorus -- Becker and Fagen's craft has become seamless while remaining idiosyncratic and thrillingly accessible. Since the songs are now paramount, it makes sense that Pretzel Logic is less of a band-oriented album than Countdown to Ecstasy, yet it is the richest album in their catalog, one where the backhanded Dylan tribute "Barrytown" can sit comfortably next to the gorgeous "Any Major Dude Will Tell You." Steely Dan made more accomplished albums than Pretzel Logic, but they never made a better one.” Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine


        Ratings :

        Discogs : 4.17 / 5

        Recently viewed