Steely Dan - The Royal Scam (2LP, Box set, 45RPM, UHQR, 200g, Clear vinyl)

Steely Dan - The Royal Scam (2LP, Box set, 45RPM, UHQR, 200g, Clear vinyl)

VAT included in price for European Union countries, may be adjusted based on delivery country at check out.
Average shipping time : 2 to 4 working days. Shipping is free within European Union (except for specific territories) above 99€ purchase up to 50kg. Shipping costs on quote above 50kg – quote request to be send to : No return policy for countries outside of European Union
It may take a few months for Labels to issue pre-order vinyl & CD/SACD


[click here to see more vinyl from Steely Dan]

Donald Fagen – keyboards, lead vocals, background vocals [click here to see more vinyl featuring Donald Fagen]

Walter Becker – bass, guitar

Paul Griffin – keyboards

Don Grolnick – keyboards

Denny Dias – guitar

Larry Carlton – guitar

Dean Parks – guitar

Elliott Randall – guitar

Jim Horn – saxophone

Plas Johnson – saxophone

John Klemmer – saxophone

Chuck Findley – trumpet

Bob Findley – horn

Dick Hyde – horn, trombone

Chuck Rainey – bass

Rick Marotta – drums ("Don't Take Me Alive", "Everything You Did")

Bernard Purdie – drums (all other tracks)

Gary Coleman – percussion

Victor Feldman – percussion, keyboards

Timothy B. Schmit – background vocals

Venetta Fields – background vocals

Clydie King – background vocals

Sherlie Matthews – background vocals

Michael McDonald – background vocals

Horn arrangements by Donald Fagen, Walter Becker, Chuck Findley

All songs written by Walter Becker and Donald Fagen, except "The Fez" written with Paul Griffin


2 LPs, Tip-on old style gatefold double pocket jackets with film lamination by Stoughton Printing housed in a premium slipcase with a wooden dowel spine.

Limited to 15,000 numbered copies

Original analog Master tape : YES


Heavy Press : 200g

Record color : Clear vinyl

Speed : 45RPM

Size : 12”



Record Press : Quality Record Pressings

Label : Analogue Productions

Original Label : ABC

Recorded November 1975–March 1976 at ABC Studios, Los Angeles and A&R Studios, New York City

Engineered by Roger Nichols

Produced by Gary Katz

Mastered by Bernie Grundman

Originally released in May 1976

Reissued in 2023



Side A:

  1. Kid Charlemagne
  2. The Caves Of Altamira

Side B:

  1. Don't Take Me Alive
  2. Sign In Stranger
  3. The Fez

Side C:

  1. Green Earrings
  2. Haitian Divorce

Side D:

  1. Everything You Did
  2. The Royal Scam



          Colin Larkin’s All Time Top 1000 Albums - Ranked 868


          Reviews :

          “The Royal Scam is the first Steely Dan record that doesn't exhibit significant musical progress from its predecessor, but that doesn't mean the album is any less interesting. The cynicism that was suppressed on Katy Lied comes roaring to the surface on The Royal Scam -- not only are the lyrics bitter and snide, but the music is terse, broken, and weary. Not so coincidentally, the album is comprised of Walter Becker and Donald Fagen's weakest set of songs since Can't Buy a Thrill. Alternating between mean-spirited bluesy vamps like "Green Earrings" and "The Fez" and jazzy soft rock numbers like "The Caves of Altamira," there's nothing particularly bad on the album, yet there are fewer standouts than before. Nevertheless, the best songs on The Royal Scam, like the sneering "Kid Charlemagne" and "Sign in Stranger," rank as genuine Steely Dan classics.” AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine


          UHQR :

          UHQR pressing is inspired from JVC Japan, which 30 years ago was the pinnacle of high-quality vinyl. Each UHQR vinyl is pressed, using hand-selected vinyl, on a manual Finebilt press with attention paid to every single detail of every single record. The 200-gram records feature the same flat profile that helped to make the original UHQR so desirable. From the lead-in groove to the run-out groove, there is no pitch to the profile, allowing your stylus to play truly perpendicular to the grooves from edge to center. Every UHQR is hand-inspected upon pressing completion, and only the truly flawless are allowed to go to market.

          Ratings :

          AllMusic : 3.5 / 5 , Discogs : 4.35 / 5

          Recently viewed