Whitney Houston – Whitney - AudioSoundMusic
Whitney Houston – Whitney - AudioSoundMusic
Whitney Houston – Whitney - AudioSoundMusic
Whitney Houston – Whitney - AudioSoundMusic

Whitney Houston – Whitney

VAT included in price for European Union countries, may be adjusted based on delivery country at check out.
Average shipping time : 2 to 4 working days. Shipping is free within European Union (except for specific territories) above 99€ purchase up to 50kg. Shipping costs on quote above 50kg – quote request to be send to : contact@audiosoundmusic.com. No return policy for countries outside of European Union
It may take a few months for Labels to issue pre-order vinyl & CD/SACD


Whitney Houston – vocals [click here to see more vinyl featuring Whitney Houston]

Background vocals - Jim Gilstrap (A1-2, B2, B5), Kitty Beethoven (A1-2, B2, B5), Kevin Dorsey  (A1), Myrna Matthews  (A1), Jennifer Hall (A1-2, B2, B5), Niki Haris (A2, B2, B5), Kashif (B1), Claytoven Richardson (B2)

Drums - Narada Michael Walden (A1, A5, B2, B6), John Robinson (A4, B3), Paul Leim (B1-2)

Drum programming - Jellybean (A3), Bongo Bob (A5), Narada Michael Walden (B4-5)

Piano - Robbie Buchanan (A4), Randy Kerber (B3), Frank Martin (B4)

Keyboards - Walter Afanasieff (A5), Kashif (B1), Ralph Schuckett (B1), Preston Glass (B2)

Synthesizers - Walter Afanasieff (A1), Frank Martin (A2, B4), Jack Waldman (A3), Fred Zarr (A3), Kashif (B1), Ralph Schuckett (B1), Michael Boddicker (B3), Randy Jackson (B4-5), Cory Lerios (B6)

Bass - Nathan East (A4, B3), Marcus Miller (B1)

Electric bass - Randy Jackson (B2, B6)

Bass synth - Randy Jackson (A1, B5), Walter Afanasieff (A5)

Guitar - Paul Jackson, Jr. (A3-4, B3), Dann Huff (B1), Ira Siegel (B1), Paul Pesco (B1), Shambhu Neil Vineberg (B2)

Guitar synth - Corrado Rustici (A1-2, A5, B2, B5-6)

Tambourine - Gigi Gonaway (B2)

Percussion - Paulinho da Costa (A3), Bashiri Johnson (A3, B1), Sammy Figueroa (A3)

Percussion programming - Preston Glass (A1, B2), Bongo Bob (A5, B2)

Alto sax - Marc Russo (A1), Kenny G (B4)

Tenor sax - Kenny G (A2, B2)

Sax - Vincent Henry (B1)

Electronic drums - Gigi Gonaway (A1)

Synth horns - Sterling (A1)

Synth strings - Preston Glass (B2)

DX7 Vibes - Frank Martin (A2), Preston Glass (B6)

Simmons toms - Linden Aaron (A3)

Vibes - Roy Ayers (A3)

Congas - Raul Rekou (B2, B4)

Horn section - Marc Russo (B2), Wanye Wallace (B2), Premik Russell Tubbs (B2), Jerry Hey (B2)

Rhythm arrangement by Robbie Buchanan (A4), Kashif (B1), Gene Page (B3)

Horn arrangements by Gene Page (B1), Jerry Hey (B2)

String arrangement by Michael Gibbs (A2, B5), Lee Holdridge (A4), Gene Page (B1, B3)

String conducted by Michael Gibbs (A2, B5-6)

Written by George Merrill (A1), Shannon Rubicam (A1), Sam Dees (A2), Toni C. (A3), Michael Masser (A4, B3), Will Jennings (A5), Billy Steinberg (A5) Tom Kelly (A5), LeMel Humes (B1), James Calabrese (B1), Dyan Humes (B1), Goffin (B3), O'Kelly Isley (B4), Ronald Isley (B4), Marvin Isley (B4), Chris Jasper (B4), Frank Wildhorn (B5), Chuck Jackson (B5), Tim Rice (B6), Benny Andersson (B6), Björn Ulvaeus (B6)

1 LP, standard sleeve

Limited numbered edition

Original analog Master tape : YES

Heavy Press : 180g SuperVinyl

Record color : black

Speed : 33RPM

Size : 12”



Record Press : RTI

Label : Mobile Fidelity

Original Label : Arista

Recorded 1986-87

Engineered by Lincoln Clapp (A1-2, A5, B2, B4-6), Gordon Lyon (A1-2, A5, B2, B4-6), Jay Rifkin (A1-2, A5, B2, B4-6), Ken Kessie (A1-2, A5, B2, B4-6), Maureen Droney (A1-2, A5, B2, B4-6), Michael Hutchinson (A3), Doc Dougherty (A3), Dennis McKay (A3), Michael DeLugg (A4, B3), Dean Burt (A4, B3), Jim Boyer (A4, B3), Mike Mancini (A4, B3), Russ Terrano (A4, B3), Fred Law (A4, B3), Darroll Gustamachio (B1), Russ Terrana (B1), Calvin Harris (B1)

Mixed by David Frazer (A1-2, A5, B2, B4-6), Russ Torrano (A4, B3), Michael Hutchinson (A3), Darroll Gustamachio (B1)

Produced by Narada Michael Walden (A1-2, A5, B2, B4-6), Jellybean (A3), Michael Masser (A4, B3), Kashif (B1), Preston Glass (B2)

Originally released in June 1987

Reissued in 2023


Side A:

  1. I Wanna Dance with Somebody (Who Loves Me)
  2. Just the Lonely Talking Again
  3. Love Will Save the Day
  4. Didn't We Almost Have It All
  5. So Emotional

Side B:

  1. Where You Are
  2. Love Is a Contact Sport
  3. You're Still My Man
  4. For the Love of You
  5. Where Do Broken Hearts Go
  6. I Know Him So Well


Grammy Awards 1988 Best Pop Vocal Performance, Female for "I Wanna Dance with Somebody (Who Loves Me)"

Soul Train Music Awards 1988 Album of the Year, Female

Billboard Music Awards 1987 Top Pop Album Artist – Female

Billboard Music Awards 1988 Top Pop Singles Artist – Female

American Music Awards 1988 Favorite Pop/Rock Female Artist

American Music Awards 1989 Favorite Soul/R&B Female Artist

American Music Awards 1989 Favorite Pop/Rock Female Artist

American Music Awards 1988 Favorite Pop/Rock Single for "I Wanna Dance with Somebody (Who Loves Me)"

Reviews :

“Whitney Houston became an international star with this album. It sold more than ten million copies around the world, yielded a string of number one hit singles across the board like "I Wanna Dance With Somebody (Who Loves Me)," "Didn't We Almost Have It All," and "Love Will Save the Day," and established Houston as the era's top female star. She later went on to more than solidify that status, with other hit albums and a budding film career. While this is a far cry from soul, it's the ultimate in polished, super-produced urban contemporary material.” AllMusic Review by Ron Wynn

Ratings :

AllMusic : 4 / 5 , Discogs : 4.07 / 5

Recently viewed